Of the Beadin’ Path Blog Tour Interview + Giveaway

Off the Beadin’ Path
by Janice Peacock

Off the Beadin’ Path (Glass Bead Mystery Series)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Vetrai Press (March 11, 2017)
230 Pages
E-Book ASIN: B01N6FUCPN

Jax O’Connell and her friend Tessa have no idea what challenges await them when they head to the small town of Carthage to take a glass blowing class with Marco De Luca, a famous Italian glass artist. While Jax loves melting glass to make beads, she discovers that standing in front of the glass furnace’s inferno frightens her.

After the first night of class, Tessa sees a dead body through the water-streaked window of the studio. The next morning there’s no sign of Marco—dead or alive—and one of the studio owners is also missing. The local sheriff doesn’t take the disappearance seriously, so Jax and Tessa take matters into their own hands.

Jax must face her fears to find the body, track down the clues, and uncover the killer—and do it all before another life is shattered.

Off the Beadin’ Path is the third book in the Glass Bead Mystery series.

Interview:

What inspired you to write Off The Beadin’ Path ? 

I was inspired to write Off the Beadin’ Path while I was working in a glass studio in Corning, NY. I was taking a torch-working class, where we were learning to make realistic small-scale animal sculptures in glass. Well, mine weren’t that realistic because I wasn’t very good at making them. A glassblowing class was going on in the same studio. During the course of the week-long class I saw all sorts of bad behavior that reminded me of some of the cozy mystery books I’d read in the past—grudges, big egos, little flirtations, and power plays. I had an epiphany, really, as I walked through the glassblowing studio one day during class—the perfect murder weapon. I don’t want to give away too much, but I finally found a way to use what I found at the studio all those years ago and put it in Off the Beadin’ Path. I’m happy with how it turned out and glad I waited until the third book in the Glass Bead Mystery Series to use the idea.

What was your favorite part in writing this story? 

One of my favorite parts was writing about glassblowing. Blowing glass is fun, and kind of scary. I have only very basic glassblowing skills and am much more comfortable doing what’s called lampworking, where I melt glass using a table-mounted torch, as opposed to getting hot glass out of a crucible in a furnace. I enjoyed describing the processes of working with hot glass and making sure readers understood what was happening in the “hot shop”—which is what most people in the glass art world call a glassblowing studio. The passages in Off the Beadin’ Path that occur in the hot shop were the most fun, and the most challenging to write. I was able to pull from my own experiences, but also had a well-known glass artist review my manuscript. He gave me advice on some of the more subtle aspects of glassblowing that I hadn’t gotten quite right in the early drafts of the book. 

Which character do you feel more connected to? 

Jax’s next door neighbor, Val, is one of the characters I feel most connected to, and she is a reader favorite as well. Val is a tall red-haired former beauty queen with a penchant for science fiction. She’s a little nutty. I do think there is a bit of me in Val, because I have been known to don a tiara from time to time, and I do love Star Wars. While Val is definitely comic relief, she also adds warmth to the stories because she is one of Jax’s most loyal friends, and certainly the quirkiest. In Off the Beadin’ Path, Val is hiding something—actually someone—in her house. It takes most of the book before readers find out who it is. I can’t say much without giving it away, but suffice it to say that Val’s special guest will be back in To Bead or Not to Bead, Book Four in the Glass Bead Mystery Series.

If you could bring a character to life and take to dinner who would you take? 

I think I’d take one of the famous glassblowers from Off the Beadin’ Path out to dinner. While they are handsome, strong Italian men, and just about the right age for me, the main reason I’d want to take one of the de Luca brothers out for dinner is to learn about the world of art glass.  I’d love to learn how to become as rich and famous as they are. I swear it wouldn’t be because of how sexy they are, because, after all, I am a happily married woman. But this is just pretend, right? So, I’ll just let my imagination run wild…I’m pretty good at that!

Do you have any upcoming projects and if so can you tell us about it?

The project I’m focused on right now is the release of Book Three in the Glass Bead Mystery Series, Off the Beadin’ Path. It came about a week ago, and right now my only project is getting the word out about it. Of course, there is another book in the pipeline. To Bead or Not to Bead is the fourth book in the Glass Bead Mystery Series. I’ve got a rough draft version of that book and I’m ready to dive in as soon as things calm down a little bit from the launch of my current book. And, I’ve been itching to start a new series, but I am not sure when I’ll be able to squeeze that into my busy schedule.

Thanks for hosting me on your blog today. 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone!

About The Author

Janice Peacock decided to write her first mystery novel after working in a glass studio full of colorful artists who didn’t always get along. They reminded her of the odd, and often humorous, characters in the murder mystery books she loved to read. Inspired by that experience, she combined her two passions and wrote High Strung: A Glass Bead Mystery, launching a new cozy mystery series featuring glass beadmaker Jax O’Connell.

When Janice isn’t writing about glass artists-turned-amateur-detectives, she makes glass beads using a torch, designs one-of-a-kind jewelry, and makes sculptures using hot glass. An award-winning artist, her work has been exhibited internationally and is in the permanent collections of the Corning Museum of Glass, the Glass Museum of Tacoma, WA, and in private collections worldwide.

Janice lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, two cats, and twelve chickens. She has a studio full of beads…lots and lots of beads.

Author Links

Webpage – www.janicepeacock.com,

Facebook – www.facebook.com/JanPeac,

GoodReads – www.goodreads.com/JanicePeacock,

@JanPeac on Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest

Purchase Link

Amazon

                 Giveaway: 

            Click Here to Enter

Tour Participants

March 15 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

March 15 – My Journey Back – REVIEW

March 16 – StoreyBook Reviews – CHARACTER GUEST POST, GIVEAWAY

March 16 – Babs Book Bistro – SPOTLIGHT

March 17 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

March 17 – Books,Dreams,Life – INTERVIEW, SPOTLIGHT

March 18 – Sleuth Cafe – REVIEW, GIVEAWAY

March 18 – My Reading Journeys – SPOTLIGHT

March 19 – Island Confidential – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

March 20 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

March 21 – Varietats – REVIEW

March 21 – Queen of All She Reads – GUEST POST

March 22 – Book Babble – REVIEW

March 22 – Readeropolis – SPOTLIGHT

March 23 – A Blue Million Books – INTERVIEW

March 23 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW

March 24 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, GIVEAWAY

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

One thought on “Of the Beadin’ Path Blog Tour Interview + Giveaway

  1. Pingback: I Read What You Write!

Leave a Reply

