The Dragon’s Gate VBT + Giveaway

Synopsis : 

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Praise for The Dragon’s Gate:

“In his signature style, Wolverton cleverly overlays intricate plotting with ancient Chinese legends and history (including the Dragon Boat Festival and the Terracotta Warriors) and creates a thrilling, fast-paced story that flies by. Fans will wait with bated breath for the third book in the trilogy.” — Kirkus

“More mystical artifacts, wild things, and mysteries more puzzling than ever. This second installment picks up right where The Vanishing Island left off, and fills in enough blanks to remind readers of Bren’s last perilous adventure. Pick this up to keep readers on the hook for the upcoming third book.”– Booklist

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY

                                My Review : 

A very well written story. I absolutely loved it. I am looking forward to reading what happens next. I was glued to the pages of this book it was just fascinating to read about the Chinese history as well as getting to know the characters. 

A lot of action and mystery that kept me guessing and wanting more. The Author does a good job taking you on an adventure through the book. 

A great mystery book that you should definitely try. You will go on a journey to another place and find mysteries and action here and there. I hope you pick this book up. You will love it. 


10 Random Things: 


Random Things about your college years

I was terrified of having a roommate my freshman year, but today, 30 years later, he’s still a dear friend.

I had exactly one girlfriend in five years. But we are still friends and she lives in Hong Kong.

I pledged a fraternity but dropped out before initiating.

I transferred schools twice, ending up at the place I started (Rhodes College, Memphis, Tenn.)

Rhodes’s campus looks a lot like Hogwarts, and we had a campus owl. Like, a real owl that hung out in our trees.

My friends and I filmed a wrestling video in our freshman dorm.

I had a huge crush on my Shakespeare professor.

I grew three inches my freshman year.

I had a roommate my sophomore year who dipped tobacco and left spit cups all over the room.

B.B. King was at my graduation ceremony.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I have been writing for children for 20 years, helping create books, documentary television, and online content for Discovery Networks, National Geographic, the Library of Congress, Scholastic, and Time-Life Books, among others. Inspired by authors such as Lewis Carroll and Mark Twain, as well as folk tales and mythology from around the world, I love to combine wordplay and humor with dramatic plots to create rich narrative worlds for readers.

My debut novel, NEVERSINK, was named the Children’s Book of Choice by Literacy Mid-South for their Read Across America program in 2014. The first book in THE VANISHING ISLAND trilogy is available now.

WEBSITE: http://www.barrywolverton.com
TWITTER: 
@wolvertonhill
GOODREADS: 
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4934832.Barry_Wolverton
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/wolvertonhill/

INSTAGRAM: @wolvertonhill

Giveaway: 

– 7 Winner’s will Receive a Copy of The Dragon’s Gate  (The Chronicles of the Black Tulip #2) by Barry Wolverton.

Click Here To Enter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s