Daughter Of A Thousand Years Blog Tour Interview + Giveaway

02_daughter-of-a-thousand-yearsDaughter of a Thousand Yearsby Amalia Carosella

Publication Date: February 21, 2017

Lake Union Publishing

eBook & Paperback; 442 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction/Medieval Romance

Add to GR Button

 

 

Greenland, AD 1000

More than her fiery hair marks Freydís as the daughter of Erik the Red; her hot temper and fierce pride are as formidable as her Viking father’s. And so, too, is her devotion to the great god Thor, which puts her at odds with those in power—including her own brother, the zealous Leif Eriksson. Determined to forge her own path, she defies her family’s fury and clings to her dream of sailing away to live on her own terms, with or without the support of her husband.

New Hampshire, 2016

Like her Icelandic ancestors, history professor Emma Moretti is a passionate defender of Norse mythology. But in a small town steeped in traditional values, her cultural beliefs could jeopardize both her academic career and her congressman father’s reelection. Torn between public expectation and personal identity, family and faith, she must choose which to honor and which to abandon.

In a dramatic, sweeping dual narrative that spans a millennium, two women struggle against communities determined to silence them, but neither Freydís nor Emma intends to give up without a fight.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound

Interview: 

1.) What inspired you to write Daughter of a Thousand Years ? 

It was kind of a unique confluence of events ranging from the needs of the market to what historical period I felt comfortable taking on, and the enthusiasm of my editors and agent, but ultimately, I wanted to write a book about Freydis and the Vinland Sagas that stripped away some of the inherent “pagans/non-Christians are evil” bias of the saga itself, and once I realized I was writing Freydis, I knew that if I was going to write a dual timeline, I wanted faith to be the connective tissue across time. Because the fight over how and who people worship didn’t end with the Christianization of Europe – we’re all still fighting that same fight around the world, and particularly in the United States today. And of course it’s a very personal topic for me, as a Heathen myself. So it felt like an important story to tell, to give people a glimpse of what that might look like for some people today, people who are just every day members of your community who mostly skate below the radar.
2.) Which Character do you consider to be more like? 

Well. I’m not Freydis. I don’t have her temper or her extremism in me – I guess I’m more of a Thorstein (Freydis’s brother) or even a Gudrid, as far as that goes, in that I see validity in both (all) traditions, whether they resonate for me personally or not, and I try to be accepting of others and our differences. That said, I definitely also identify with Emma’s struggles. Some of her struggles are my struggles made fiction and I won’t pretend otherwise – but she definitely isn’t me, either. 
3.) Which Character would you take to dinner if you could? 

Sonnung 🙂 Mysterious Norse Warrior dude, sign me up! 

But more seriously, I’d definitely be interested in meeting historical Freydis if I could. If she lived. Even Gudrid the Far Traveller, too, or Erik the Red, just because I would love so much to know their truths, their narratives of their own lives. We can piece together their stories from sources written years and years after they lived, and that’s a version of the truth, sure, but how did they see themselves? Did Erik think he had a terrible temper or did he think other people were just really asking for it all the time? What did Gudrid experience? What did she believe? She went on pilgrimage to Rome in her later years, so I imagine she must have been devoted to Christ to some degree, but because times and faith were so different then, I wonder what did that mean to her? 

Oh, or Thorhall!! He’s portrayed as this sort of… pagan/bad Christian in the sagas. But who was he and did he really believe that Thor sent them that whale in Vinland? What did he witness to make him think so? What happened to him after he literally sails out of the narrative? I think my dinner table would be pretty crowded. It’s too hard to choose just one! 🙂
4.) Give us one reason why we should read Daughter of a Thousand Years? 

This is maybe one of the most relevant books I’ve ever written – this is a book about today’s world as much as it is about the past, about finding a place for ourselves in our community and being brave and true to who we are, and it’s not because I forced the story of the past to conform to our modern issues, but because we’re reliving those issues today on a different scale, and both Freydis and Emma’s stories feel so desperately important, so timeless and eternal. We all just want to be free, right?
5.) Do you have any upcoming projects and if so can you tell us about it? 

I do! But the most relevant one is still super secret classified, so I can’t talk about it! In the less top secret category, I’m working on a contemporary romance (I know, it feels weird to me too, but the characters will not leave me alone and it is so fun) and as Amalia Dillin, the third book in my Orc Saga. I’m also hoping, as Amalia Dillin, to release an anthology of my Fate of the Gods novellas and assorted short stories this year, so I’m working on some new content to include in that. And if you haven’t read any of my Amalia Dillin work, but you loved Sonnung in DAUGHTER and fantasy is your other genre of choice, you might want to check out my Fate of the Gods trilogy (beginning with Forged by Fate). It’s my earliest work, and I’ve grown a lot as an author since they were published, but thematically those books kind of handshake with DAUGHTER in ways I didn’t really expect or intend. It’s funny how that happens sometimes.

About the Author03_amalia-carosella-author

Amalia Carosella graduated from the University of North Dakota with a bachelors degree in Classical Studies and English. An avid reader and former bookseller, she writes about old heroes and older gods. She lives with her husband in upstate New York and dreams of the day she will own goats (and maybe even a horse, too). For more information, visit her blog at www.amaliacarosella.com.

She also writes myth-steeped fantasy and paranormal romance under the name Amalia Dillin. Learn more about her other works at www.amaliadillin.com.

You can connect with Amalia Carosella on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Google+. Sign up for her newsletter, The Amaliad, for news and updates.

Blog Tour Schedule

Thursday, February 16

Review at Let Them Read Books

Friday, February 17

Review at Just One More Chapter

Sunday, February 19

Review at Carole’s Ramblings

Monday, February 20

Review at 100 Pages a Day

Tuesday, February 21

Review at Oh, for the Hook of a Book!

Wednesday, February 22

Review at Book Nerd

Thursday, February 23

Interview at Yelena Casale’s Blog

Monday, February 27

Review at Ageless Pages Reviews

Tuesday, February 28

Review at A Bookish Affair

Wednesday, March 1

Review at The Maiden’s Court

Thursday, March 2

Spotlight at Laura’s Interests

Friday, March 3

Spotlight at Passages to the Past

Monday, March 6

Review at Luxury Reading

Tuesday, March 7

Interview at Books, Dreams, Life

Thursday, March 9

Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective

Friday, March 10

Review at CelticLady’s Reviews

Review & Interview at WTF Are You Reading?

Giveaway

To win a $25 Amazon Gift Card & a Thor’s Hammer/Mjölnir Pewter Pendant, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on March 10th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

– Giveaway is open to residents in the US only.

– Only one entry per household.

– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.

– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

https://gleam.io/nWKmK/embed?l=file%3A%2F%2F%2Fandroid_asset%2F

https://js.gleam.io/e.js04_doaty_blog-tour-banner_final

Leave a Reply

