Of The Ice Blog Tour Interview + Giveaway

 

The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

All is fair in love and hockey…

Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.

Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.

It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.

For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

Off the Ice (Juniper Falls #1) by Julie Cross
Publication Date: February 27, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen

Purchase Links:

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Amazon | Indies | B&NKobo | TBD | iBooks 

Interview: 

1.) What inspired you to write Off The Ice? 

I love writing sports and romance together so that sent me in the direction of OFF THE ICE. I was also intrigued by both small-town life and the idea of creating a fictional town, something I’ve never done in any of my previous books.

2.) Which Character do you feel more connected to? 

OFF THE ICE is written with alternating point of views between Tate, a varsity hockey player and Claire, a girl from Juniper Falls. I definitely feel most connected to Claire and Tate because I’ve been inside both of their heads, creating their hopes and fears, developing them as characters who grow throughout the story. But I also felt a connection to Roger, an adult character in the story. He’s just recently married Tate’s mom, moved into Tate’s house bringing his five-year-old daughter, and became his stepfather. Roger wasn’t a hockey player and this gives him a fresh set of eyes and a perspective that allows him to put Tate’s well-being first over any hockey fame, town traditions, or need to respect Tate’s abusive father simply because he was one of Juniper Falls’ greatest players. Roger is kind of nerdy but also kind of cool, if that’s even possible, and he offers both Tate and Claire great advice and support.

3.) What was the hardest part in writing Off The Ice? 

Probably the most difficult part was keeping the spotlight on my two leading characters. Building a fictional town with a team of hockey players plus all the past players still hanging around…everyone has a story and it’s not easy remembering to focus on only two of them in this first book. Luckily it’s a series and I will have the chance to tell more of these stories.

4.) What was the easiest part in writing Off The Ice?

Writing Tate’s relationship with his stepfather, Roger and Claire’s relationship with her father, who is very sick and recovering from having a brain tumor removed. This book has been through at least five major rewrites, but those two relationships between father/stepfather and kid have not changed much at all. I’ve deleted scenes and dialogue, but the essence and purpose of those relationships have surprisingly remained intact and I’m happy with how they help the story. And glad to have positive adult characters in a YA novel that has many not-so-great adults.

5.) Do you have any new projects coming up ? If so can you tell us about it? 

I have a sequel to CHASING TRUTH that I’m finishing up and it will release sometime next fall. And then two more books (at least) in the Juniper Falls series.

About The Author: 

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).

She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.

She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.

Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

Giveaway: 

One (1) winner will receive a Kindle Fire. 

Click Here To Enter

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Of The Ice Blog Tour Interview + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s