Of Life, Death,Aliens and Zombies Blog Tour, Guest Post + Giveaway

SUMMARY/BLURB
Misnomer on purpose, this amazing debut rocks nine short and amusing stories – a Zombie Apocalypse without zombies; the Vatican announcing contact with Aliens; a heroin junkie that loves poetry; a timeless love, and much more. 
Ordinary characters facing extraordinary situations, dry humor, philosophical musing dressed as whimsical, offhand commentary, and a fairy-tale like writing; those are the key elements of the style of this funny and thought-provoking collection.
The collection comprehends three previously published stories (“The Galway Review”, “Trigger Warning”, “Two Thousand Words” and “Chantwood Magazine”); five new unpublished pieces; and for the first time in English, the best-selling story “Impurità”, which was Selected Work in 2012 by Apple iBooks.

TOP REVIEWERS’ COMMENTS
“Very strong voice, reminiscent of Jorge Luis Borges, John Fante, Kurt Vonnegut” 

– Lyn, GoodReads Top Reviewer
“An author who will stun and amaze you and make you laugh and perhaps cry” 

– Pam S. Dunn, author of Sunflower
“I haven’t really been introduced to a voice as Zeitgeisty as this since Alex Garland”

– Fabian, GoodReads Top Reviewer
“Would calling it a literary masterpiece be an exaggeration? I hope you will be able to tell me that after you read it” 

– Bernard Jan, author of Cruel Summer

GoodReads 

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon|IBooks|B&N|Google Play|Kobo

Guest Post:

My method to write regularly.

I started writing when I was very young. My first tale, The Mystery of the Mysterious Mystery Woman, started when I was seven, was also the first story to end up in the metaphorical drawer – believe it or not, a seven year old doesn’t have the time and focus to finish a full story.

Years later, I realised that this is a recurring topic for many writers and aspiring writers. I finally comprehended the old saying of that goes ideas are sold a dozen a dime. Everyone and his neighbour have a novel in progress in their head. The hard part is to sit down and write. And if in my youth years I had the time and will to write late at night – because my only concern was school – evenings don’t work in my adulthood. When I did try to write at night, I ended up drinking too much whiskey, something that gives you the confidence to write more but hinders your ability to actually write good things. And most of the time, my daily job takes up all of my mental energy, if not all of my physical one. And weekends are for family and friends, right?

So when I started my first novel, Dead Men Naked (which is going to be out soon – stay tuned by following me on twitter or visiting http://www.dariowrites.com), I actually wrote the first chapter at night. Noticing that the idea was going somewhere, I tried multiple more nights, or weekends, to develop and finish it. Without surprise, that was a struggle, for the reasons I’ve expressed before. And that was the make it or break it moment, the moment that defined my adult self as a writer, because writing wasn’t a hobby or a egotistic idea; it was a necessity, and I needed to find a way to make it work.

And yes, I found my method by copying other great authors. I started to wake up really early in the morning, around 5am, brew a cup of coffee, meditate for fifteen minutes, and then just sit down and write, until my wife would wake up at seven and we would have breakfast together.

This method was a revelation; every morning I would be at my peak condition, physically and mentally, and were able to dedicate that time to my writing. If the first half of Dead Men Naked took six months, the second half plus editing took only two. I finally found my holy grail, and got healthier in the process (to meditate every day is the key to mental happiness).

So now, every time I have an idea ripe for consumption, I will go back to this routine of early mornings, coffee, meditation and writing. This is my secret to write, and you can see the results starting with my collection of short stories, Of Life, Death, Aliens and Zombies, and very soon, with my full novel – follow me on twitter or facebook to stay tuned!

AUTHOR BIO & CONTACT DETAILS:

DARIO CANNIZZARO was born in the sun-eaten Naples, Italy in 1982. He moved to Ireland in 2011, and has called it home ever since. He started writing short stories at seven, which are shamefully lost forever, but has never stopped writing since. His works have been published in Italian and English in Literary Magazines such as The Galway Review, Two Thousand Words and Chantwood Magazine.

Website|Twitter|Facebook

GIVEAWAY:

This giveaway is for 1 paperback copy of the book (UK only) as a first prize and 3 digital copies of the book.

Click Here To Enter

Leave a Reply

